Suzuki ATV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
2016 King Quad LTA400FL6
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I recently purchased a used 2016 King Quad LTA400FL6 for my 12-year-old. I noticed it was leaking oil at both ends of the front drive shaft where they connect to the engine and the front differential.

I’m not a mechanic but also, I’m not clueless either. I typically can figure things out by reading/learning as I go but this issue has me at a standstill. I purchased the Service Manual for this model as well as did a lot of internet research on my issue but cannot seem to find exactly what I need. I am hoping my question may be resolved by the experts in this forum.

So far, I’ve raised the ATV up vertically as I’ve read about. I cleaned up the mess of oil underneath and removed all the panels and such. I researched and purchased the seals. I was able to separate the drive shaft in half and remove the side connected to the engine. My concern is the removing the side connected to the differential. I tried a bit of lite prying like from the engine side but it is not coming loose. I am hesitant to use more force until I know for sure that is the correct way to remove that side of the u-joint from the differential.

Also, when replacing the seals do I need to purchase that special Suzuki tool or do I just pry them out with screwdriver?

Thanks for whatever advice/assistance you can provide. My boy is anxious to get riding again as this has been out of order for at least 6 months now.

Paul (and Caleb)

Tire Wheel Car Vehicle Motor vehicle
Motor vehicle Gas Automotive wheel system Auto part Rim
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Bumper Rim Automotive exterior

·
Registered
100 Posts
This is where I would start: Removed Link, (Forum Rules Violation). See Forum Rules regarding service manual sharing.

ajl719
Suzuki Atv Forums Administrator.

·
Administrator
9,173 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Hi