Suzuki ATV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all
Newbie here, I am rebuilding an LT80 for a friend, he said it had been standing for about 5 years but just needed a service and sort out.
Well first of all it was full up with water so needed a full rebuild as the bore and piston were badly scored the main bearings were seized and was generally in poor shape.
Having rebuilt it with new barrel, piston, rings, big and small ends I’ve gone to start it. It turns over slowly the red relay wire gets hot then it blows the circuit breaker?
What could this be? Starter motor?

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks

Tanz

·
Super Moderator
574 Posts
Hi all
Newbie here, I am rebuilding an LT80 for a friend, he said it had been standing for about 5 years but just needed a service and sort out.
Well first of all it was full up with water so needed a full rebuild as the bore and piston were badly scored the main bearings were seized and was generally in poor shape.
Having rebuilt it with new barrel, piston, rings, big and small ends I’ve gone to start it. It turns over slowly the red relay wire gets hot then it blows the circuit breaker?
What could this be? Starter motor?

Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks

Tanz
Welcome to the forum.

Was this engine running when it ingested water, or was it off? Did it ever run with water in the engine? I am concerned about a hydro lock. You could be dealing with a bent rod. That would make the engine hard to turn over. If it isn’t a hydro lock situation, then you have to look at the possibility of excessive drain from the starter circuit and why.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi
I don’t know the answer to whether it was running?
It’s had a new Conrod in the rebuild along with the other parts listed so probably not that.
I took the plug out and turned it over so there was no compression but the circuit breaker still blew after a few seconds?

·
Super Moderator
574 Posts
Hi