Suzuki ATV Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
Thanks for allowing me to join.
I am a retired full service mechanic and all around fix it guy.
Well except for motorcycles ...just now venturing into them.
I bought a used Suzuki lt250 quadrunner (1991) for my daughters
kids on the farm. It started and ran fine but was kind of a dog but
I just figured that was age. Plastic was all broken up so I put a couple boxes
of pop rivets and some aluminum stitching in it and now she is called
Frankenstein. Has all of the original mudflaps. Fixed the starter and gave it
to her with balding tires.
Well they let it sit for about 5 years so I drug it home. Looked it all over,
painted the frame, freed up and redid the front brakes, new rear tires, battery,
all of the boots are fine. A wee little bit of play in the U joints. Lights and all that work.
Since I am introducing myself I should tell you my problems....It would take a big couch!
Problem:
took the carb apart. the bowl was dirty so I cleaned all that and just put it back together.
OK i dont know the part names but the carb has a throttle butterfly AND a rectangular piston
with a metering rod that slides up and down. At the top of the piston is a rubber diaphragm. I figure the diaphragm was supposed to pull the puston upwards or open. Buttoned it all up, reinstalled the carb and air filter and started the machine.
I can tell that that diaphragm was the problem because now this thing is a bear up to maybe 3,000 rpm.. At a certain point the motor starts spitting and sputtering and to me acts like it is running out of gas.