Suzuki ATV Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
Okay so I'm new to the forum and I'm new to Suzuki's. I bought a 1999 Suzuki kingquad 300 4x4 and it's a cold natured beast. It came from Arizona and it fell in my hands in Texas. I can crank on it for 20 minutes and it won鈥檛 start up. It has great spark and it's in mint condition, motor is tight and everything. Please help me. Thanks in advance guys 馃檭

Super Moderator
Welcome to the forum. A few basics are needed for an engine to run. You have spark. Let鈥檚 talk about fuel. Crank the engine for a few seconds and then remove the spark plug. Is the plug wet? Do you smell fuel? Was this sitting for some time with old fuel in it? Is it a stock carb?

Once we have some of those questions answered , we can move on and try to help.

Super Moderator
Like John stated, check for fuel first. If you have fuel and spark but it still won鈥檛 run. Cleaning the carb and draining/refilling the fuel tank may be what is needed if the quad has sat for any lengthy period of time. The other thing you may want to check are the valves. Worn or out of spec valves can attribute to hard starts. And welcome to the Forum.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Registered
Discussion Starter #5
Welcome to the forum. A few basics are needed for an engine to run. You have spark. Let鈥檚 talk about fuel. Crank the engine for a few seconds and then remove the spark plug. Is the plug wet? Do you smell fuel? Was this sitting for some time with old fuel in it? Is it a stock carb?

Once we have some of those questions answered , we can move on and try to help.
Thank you sir it is getting fuel and my plug is wet but every now and then when I am cranking on it it will backfire it was sitting for a month but the guy had it running before he brought it to me and it's not the stock carburetor

Super Moderator