Suzuki ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my issue lies I believe within the fuel system. I received the 4 wheeler and it wouldn't start and run. After getting it going by adjusting the float and unsticking the valve underneath it ran for a few months strong up until recently when it became harder and harder to start and then would bog when going under throttle until it reached higher rpms where it would clear up.

Eventually it wouldn't start any more but when I cranked and would apply throttle the crank would speed up.

I rebuilt the carb now and it starts but doesnt want to idle when the intake boot from the airbox to carb is on and/or choke being on.

I'm kinda confused at where to go from here. I took apart the fuel pump and it ran with the fuel pump front and rear diaphrams off and the fuel petcock off which makes no sense so I ordered a petcock but could that be the general issue? Any advice is appreciated. I'm a mechanic but not a atv guy.

·
Super Moderator
7,695 Posts
The fuel petcock could be the problem. Then fuel petcock has fine screened pick up tubes within the fuel tank to filter out any sediment and other crap before it leaves the tank. It is possible that these pick up tubes are partially clogged up. Though a long shot, it is plausible. The other issue with the fuel petcocks that is common is that the diaphragm within it goes bad and causes all sorts of problems. But this problem is only limited to the vacuum operated style fuel petcocks, (On/Pri/Res). The non vacuum style fuel petcocks (On/Off/Res), don’t have this issue. And seeing your quad is a ‘92, you should have the non vacuum operated style fuel petcock on yours.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3