Suzuki ATV Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just acquired a possibly 89 lt250r . The guy I got it from says it was a 92 but I tracked down owner before him and he says '89.
Besides that , I'm new to two strokes. Never owned one never worked on one just know the concept . The bike runs good when I can get it to start but it's very hard . Previous owner tried to adjust the carb to run on full choke . ( and he wondered why it kept fowling plugs ) . Well I got it set to factory settings on carb now as I don't know what else to do or how to tune and to make it worse it's completely missig the idle screw . But I got it running runs awesome need advice don't know where to start I know I wanna rebuild this carb and have no clue where to go from there just wanna make it reliable and safe . Don't wanna rebuild it anytime soon or make a dumb newbie mistake. So can someone give me some guidance. Would be very appreciated! Can answer any questions about bike. And any direction you can't point me in to read and earn some knowledge on these or two stroke concept of these would be very much appreciated . I want to understand this bike completly before I go to tearing in to it ! Thanks !

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
Rebuild kit won't have that idle screw. It is, however, a very common carb and all of the idle screws for it are identical.

The VIN number is on the back left frame upright, write it down and then do a search "Suzuki VIN decoder". There are a lot of sites, so you'll have to just weed through to find the one that is automatic. There are manual instructions on these forums.

The main thing with that idle screw missing is that it is adding more air through the hole. Maybe that was his intention, but it won't really work that way. Even if you do not get the idle screw, you should plug the hole.

(ps. I'm assuming that is a VM carb as opposed to a CV. VM carbs the throttle cable is connected directly to the slide.)

·
Registered