Suzuki ATV Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Another newbie here. I am usually a Suzuki auto (sidekicks mostly) kind of guy but I recently got a 91 quadrunner in pretty decent shape, The main issue was some rust repair to the frame, which I've done. I picked it up non-running but a spark plug fixed that and it ran but would not idle. I took the carb out, gave it a quick clean and made sure all passages were clear. Adjusted the pilot screw to 2 turns out and it ran pretty good for the most part but still had an erratic idle and would sometimes shut off after idling for a few minutes.

After a quick ride I pulled the plug again, it was carbon fouled pretty bad. I took the carb out and adjusted the pilot screw to 1 3/4 turns out and re assembled. The bike ran perfect after this for a day or 2. It still wouldn't start with choke, and even a small amount of choke when idling will kill it.

Most recently, I replaced the choke cable as the other one was broken on the handlebar end. I replaced the choke cable and it started up quickly as usual, but then a short time later it started to be very hard to start and will often stall in gear when slowly applying throttle. I think the choke might have been stuck on a bit, but I have it adjusted perfectly now so the correct amount of tension is on the new cable. It will also not start without giving it throttle.

Here are some videos of how it is running now. It will idle all day if you leave it but if you slowly give it throttle in gear it's sure to die. WOT is perfect the bike pulls great (for a 250 anyway lol). It seems the first bit of throttle is really killing it.

video-1599522777 - slow rev

video-1599523522 - WOT

video-1599523629 - slow speed maneuvering